News From Our Members

Nominations invited for RMNP Sadiq Press Freedom Award


The Rural Media Network Pakistan (RMNP) has invited nominations for its annual Sadiq Press Freedom Award 2014.

The award is intended to honour a person, organisation or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom in Pakistan.

The award, instituted by RMNP with support of World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers carries a cash award of PKR 60,000. The award will be announced on September 10 2014. The 2011 WAN-IFRA- sponsored RMNP Sadiq Press Freedom Award was given to Islamabad-based  Pakistan first female video journalist Sadia Haideri, whose husband  Azizullah Hideri was gunned down  in  2001 along with three western colleagues in Afghanistan.

The award is named in honour of the late Nawab Sir Sadiq Muhammad Khan Khamis Abbasi , the last ruler of former Princely Bahawalpur State, who gave the right of adult franchise to the inhabitants of the former Bahawalpur province in 1954. Other inhabitants of Pakistan were not given their franchise right until 1970.

Individuals as well as professional and non-governmental organisations working in the field of media and human rights are invited to nominate themselves or other candidates for the annual award.

The jury for the Sadiq Press Freedom Award will comprise six eminent journalists, academics and human rights experts.  The members of the jury will be nominated by RMNP.

Judgment Criteria

Sadiq Press Freedom Award is given to recognize the courage and commitment of Pakistani journalists and media organizations. Another aspect of this award is to divert national and international attention toward the state of media freedom in Pakistan. In the long run, the award will promote a culture which is favourable for freedom of expression.

The name of a journalist who was killed or disabled for continuing to expose corruption of government functionaries, influential personalities and politicians will come on the list for consideration.

These criteria will also cover a journalist who was killed or sustained injuries due to fair reporting against extremists and militants, and never compromised professional commitment.

Priority will be given to those journalists who were killed or sustained injuries and have poor financial background and hail from remote areas of Pakistan.

For more detail visit the RMNP website at or email:

Nominations should be sent before August 31, 2014 to:  Ehsan Ahmed Sehar, The Coordinator, Sadiq  Press Freedom Award, Rural Media Network Pakistan (RMNP) at246-C, Sattelite Town Block Z, AhmedpurEast, District Bahawalpur, Pakistan.

photo credit: Richard Masoner / Cyclelicious via photopin cc

About the author

Rural Media Network Pakistan

Leave a Comment