CJA Announcements

Rita Payne elected CJA President

Rita Payne (left)
Written by editor

Former BBC journalist Rita Payne was elected President of the Commonwealth Journalists Association on the last day of the CJA conference in Malta on Thursday 2 February.

Payne, currently chair of the UK Branch of the CJA, has taken over from Hassan Shahriar of CJA Bangladesh who completed two terms of office. Hassan was acclaimed as President Emeritus of CJA for his dedication and hard work over the years.

The full line-up:

Presidents Emeritus:
 Derek Ingram; Hassan Shahriar

President: Rita Payne (UK)

Vice presidents: Chris Cobb (Canada); Farid Hossain, Bangladesh; Joshua Kyalimpa, Uganda; Mahendra Ved, India.

Hon Secretary/Treasurer: Murray Burt (Canada)

Executive Committee Members

Syed Nahas Pasha (UK)
Drito Alice (Uganda)
Caroline Jackson (Malaysia)
Newton Sibanda (Zambia)
Fauziah Shaheen (Pakistan)
Jayanta Roy Chowdhury (India)
Shyamal Dutta (Bangladesh)
Will Henley (UK)

About the author


1 Comment

Leave a Comment